Valian vs CallBird AI
Short answer: Valian scores higher (59 vs 55). Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
| Criterion | Valian | CallBird AI |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI receptionist | AI receptionist |
| Preliminary score | 59/85 | 55/85 |
| BAA | BAA stated “BAA signed with your practice before launch.” | BAA stated “BAA (Business Associate Agreement) available upon request” |
| Pricing as shown | At 120 appointments a month: Full System '$769 a month' month to month or '$692 a month' paid every 3 months; Communications '$589' / '$530'; overage '$1.00 a minute, $0.25 a text or email, $2.50 a check'; phone lines '$10 a month each' [1][2]. The price scales with appointments. | Starter '$99 /month' ('Up to 50 calls per month'); Professional $249/month and Enterprise $499/month ('unlimited calls') per the vendor's own FAQ [1][3]. Overages not stated. |
| HIPAA / BAA availability (20) | 16 Vendor: 'BAA signed with your practice before launch' [1]; privacy policy confirms [3]. Text not public. | 14 Dental page: 'BAA (Business Associate Agreement) available upon request' [2]. Plan eligibility not stated, text not public. |
| Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25) | 13 Names Open Dental, Dentrix, Dentrix Ascend, Eaglesoft, Curve and Denticon, but says 'Today Amy books into your Valian schedule and your team enters each booking in your PMS. A direct connection that writes bookings in for you is in development' [1]. No write-back today. | 15 Dental page: 'Two-way integration with major dental and medical software: Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental' [2], but the pricing plans list only 'Google Calendar integration' [1]. Write-back for dental PMSs unclear. |
| Pricing transparency (12) | 11 Plans, included usage and overage rates are public [1][2]; the price slides with appointment volume, so a quote is still needed for an exact figure. | 10 Three plan prices and call caps published [1][3]; overages not stated. |
| Accuracy / output quality (15) | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. |
| Setup effort (8) | 6 Documented onboarding: '30 minutes of your time. Amy live the same day'; SMS 'unlocks in 2 to 3 weeks once carrier approval clears' [1]. | 6 Self-serve: 'Setup in under 10 minutes', '7-day free trial (no credit card required)' [1]. |
| Support (8) | 3 Help Center and 'Seats and support $0' [1]; hours not stated. | 2 Support hours not stated. |
| Contract terms (7) | 6 Vendor: 'You can cancel any time'; month-to-month option [1]. | 6 Vendor: 'Cancel anytime (no contracts)' and '30-day money-back guarantee' [1]. |
| Specialty fit (dental) (5) | 4 Dental and medical practices [1]. | 2 General small-business tool with a dental page [1][2]. |
| Last checked | 2026-10-15 | 2026-10-15 |
Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.
Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.
Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.