Comparisons

Valian vs Goodcall

Short answer: Valian scores higher (59 vs 49). Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
CriterionValianGoodcall
CategoryAI receptionistAI receptionist
Preliminary score59/8549/85
BAABAA stated
“BAA signed with your practice before launch.”
BAA stated
“Will you sign a BAA? Yes, on the Scale plan ($299 a month) and on Enterprise.”
Pricing as shownAt 120 appointments a month: Full System '$769 a month' month to month or '$692 a month' paid every 3 months; Communications '$589' / '$530'; overage '$1.00 a minute, $0.25 a text or email, $2.50 a check'; phone lines '$10 a month each' [1][2]. The price scales with appointments.Starter $79/mo (100 unique customers); Growth $129/mo (500); Scale $299/mo (2,000). Per-customer overage applies. 'Every plan is month to month' [1][2].
HIPAA / BAA availability (20)16
Vendor: 'BAA signed with your practice before launch' [1]; privacy policy confirms [3]. Text not public.
16
BAA is clearly stated, but limited to Scale ($299/mo) and above. Text not public [2].
Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25)13
Names Open Dental, Dentrix, Dentrix Ascend, Eaglesoft, Curve and Denticon, but says 'Today Amy books into your Valian schedule and your team enters each booking in your PMS. A direct connection that writes bookings in for you is in development' [1]. No write-back today.
5
Native integrations named include Google Sheets and HighLevel, plus Zapier [2]. No dental PMS is listed.
Pricing transparency (12)11
Plans, included usage and overage rates are public [1][2]; the price slides with appointment volume, so a quote is still needed for an exact figure.
12
All tiers, limits and overage published [1].
Accuracy / output quality (15)0
Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.
0
Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.
Setup effort (8)6
Documented onboarding: '30 minutes of your time. Amy live the same day'; SMS 'unlocks in 2 to 3 weeks once carrier approval clears' [1].
6
Free demo agent; self-serve setup [1][2].
Support (8)3
Help Center and 'Seats and support $0' [1]; hours not stated.
3
Support by email ([email protected]) [2]. Hours not stated.
Contract terms (7)6
Vendor: 'You can cancel any time'; month-to-month option [1].
6
'Every plan is month to month' [2].
Specialty fit (dental) (5)4
Dental and medical practices [1].
1
Not built for dental or healthcare.
Last checked2026-10-152026-10-14

Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.

Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.

Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.