Valian vs Viva AI
Short answer: Valian scores higher (59 vs 57). Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
| Criterion | Valian | Viva AI |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI receptionist | AI receptionist |
| Preliminary score | 59/85 | 57/85 |
| BAA | BAA stated “BAA signed with your practice before launch.” | BAA stated “HIPAA + BAA Fully compliant, with a Business Associate Agreement signed for every practice.” |
| Pricing as shown | At 120 appointments a month: Full System '$769 a month' month to month or '$692 a month' paid every 3 months; Communications '$589' / '$530'; overage '$1.00 a minute, $0.25 a text or email, $2.50 a check'; phone lines '$10 a month each' [1][2]. The price scales with appointments. | Gold '$349 /mo' (4,000 credits, 'Additional credits $0.10 each'), Platinum '$899/mo' (7,000 credits), Diamond '$1,199 /mo' (12,000 credits, 'Additional credits $0.08 each') [1]. |
| HIPAA / BAA availability (20) | 16 Vendor: 'BAA signed with your practice before launch' [1]; privacy policy confirms [3]. Text not public. | 16 Vendor: 'a BAA signed for every practice' [1]. BAA text not public. |
| Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25) | 13 Names Open Dental, Dentrix, Dentrix Ascend, Eaglesoft, Curve and Denticon, but says 'Today Amy books into your Valian schedule and your team enters each booking in your PMS. A direct connection that writes bookings in for you is in development' [1]. No write-back today. | 13 Vendor: 'official, direct integrations with all major practice management systems' and 'Viva reads and writes your schedule in real time' [1]. No PMS is named on the pages we read, so 13 (write-back claimed, systems not named). |
| Pricing transparency (12) | 11 Plans, included usage and overage rates are public [1][2]; the price slides with appointment volume, so a quote is still needed for an exact figure. | 12 All three tiers, included credits and overage rates are published [1]. |
| Accuracy / output quality (15) | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. |
| Setup effort (8) | 6 Documented onboarding: '30 minutes of your time. Amy live the same day'; SMS 'unlocks in 2 to 3 weeks once carrier approval clears' [1]. | 4 Vendor: 'How long does setup take? About one week' [1]. |
| Support (8) | 3 Help Center and 'Seats and support $0' [1]; hours not stated. | 2 Support hours or channels not stated on pages we read. |
| Contract terms (7) | 6 Vendor: 'You can cancel any time'; month-to-month option [1]. | 5 Vendor: '30-day risk-free trial — cancel anytime, no questions asked' [1]. Terms after the trial aren't stated; the linked privacy/terms pages didn't render. |
| Specialty fit (dental) (5) | 4 Dental and medical practices [1]. | 5 Built for dental practices [1]. |
| Last checked | 2026-10-15 | 2026-10-15 |
Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.
Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.
Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.