Avora vs Freed AI Scribe
Short answer: Avora scores higher (47 vs 45). Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
| Criterion | Avora | Freed AI Scribe |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Dental AI (scribe & voice perio) | AI scribe (general) |
| Preliminary score | 47/85 | 45/85 |
| BAA | BAA stated “Avora enters into a Business Associate Agreement with covered entities and their business associates, as required by HIPAA” | BAA stated “Yes, the BAA is included as Schedule A of Freed’s platform Terms of Use. When you sign up for Freed, you automatically accept the terms, including the BAA.” |
| Pricing as shown | Not published. Fees are set 'at the pricing identified in the Order' [3]. | Page markup on 2026-10-14: Starter $59 monthly / $39 annual-billing rate (1 clinician, up to 40 notes/mo). Core $59 monthly / $79 annual-billing rate; the annual rate is higher than monthly, which looks like a vendor page error, so it's unverified. Premier $119 monthly / $104 annual. Groups via sales [1]. |
| HIPAA / BAA availability (20) | 16 BAA page: 'Avora enters into a Business Associate Agreement with covered entities' [2]. Copy on request. | 18 BAA is part of the platform Terms of Use (Schedule A) for all accounts [2]. |
| Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25) | 18 Vendor: 'integrates with all major dental PMS platforms including OpenDental, Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Denticon, and Dentrix Ascend' [1]. Write-back not stated on its own pages. | 4 'Send notes straight into any browser-based EHR with one click' [1]. No dental PMS named. |
| Pricing transparency (12) | 2 No public price [1][3]. | 9 Public prices, but Core's monthly/annual figures look inverted on the vendor page [1]. |
| Accuracy / output quality (15) | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. |
| Setup effort (8) | 2 Not stated. | 6 7-day free trial, no credit card [1]. |
| Support (8) | 2 Not stated. | 5 'World-class live support from our Clinician Success team' [1]. |
| Contract terms (7) | 2 Client terms: term set by Order and 'will automatically renew for additional successive terms' unless 30 days' notice is given; fees 'non-refundable' [3]. | 2 Monthly or annual. Terms not reviewed. |
| Specialty fit (dental) (5) | 5 Dental-only [1]. | 1 General medical scribe; not dental-specific. |
| Last checked | 2026-10-16 | 2026-10-14 |
Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.
Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.
Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.