Arini vs AptaBook
Short answer: Arini scores higher (52 vs 42). BAA not confirmed for AptaBook, so AptaBook can't be a top pick for patient data. Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
| Criterion | Arini | AptaBook |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI receptionist | AI receptionist |
| Preliminary score | 52/85 | 42/85 |
| BAA | BAA stated “HIPAA BAA ✓ Included” | BAA not confirmed “For healthcare use cases that require a Business Associate Agreement, contact us before enabling channels that may handle protected health information.” |
| Pricing as shown | Not published. Arini's own blog says pricing is 'Custom (demo-based)' [2]. Third-party price figures exist but are not confirmed by the vendor, so we don't repeat them. | Solo '$49 a month with 50 conversations', Starter '$99 with 400', Professional '$149 with 1,500' and Enterprise 'custom pricing'; 'there are no overage charges, and every plan starts with a 15-day free trial with no credit card' [1]. Which plans include a BAA isn't stated. |
| HIPAA / BAA availability (20) | 14 BAA is stated as included, but only in a marketing blog post. No BAA text is public. | 12 Terms only say to 'contact us' for a BAA [3]; no public statement that a BAA will be signed. The vendor confirmed by email that it signs one on request, pending a public statement. Plan eligibility not stated. Text not public. |
| Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25) | 22 Vendor lists 'OpenDental, EagleSoft, Denticon, Dentrix, Curve Dental — native bidirectional' [2]. Naming five dental PMSs with bidirectional sync earns 22/25 at desk-review level; the remaining points need write-back confirmed in a demo. | 5 Books into 'Google Calendar or Outlook' and lists HubSpot and Zoho CRM [2]. No dental PMS is named; for a PMS sync the vendor points to 'Webhooks and custom HTTP tools' [2]. No PMS write-back, so staff re-enter bookings. |
| Pricing transparency (12) | 2 Custom/demo-based pricing only [2]. | 12 All plans, conversation limits and 'no overage charges' published [1]. |
| Accuracy / output quality (15) | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. |
| Setup effort (8) | 4 Vendor: 'Most practices go live in 2–4 weeks with a dedicated implementation engineer' [2]. | 6 Self-serve: 'Most businesses are live in under 10 minutes' by connecting the calendar and forwarding the phone line; 15-day free trial [1]. |
| Support (8) | 4 'Dedicated engineer per practice' for implementation [2]. Ongoing support hours are not stated. | 3 Support by email (support@aptabook.com); terms say 'Response times vary by plan and severity' [3]. Hours not stated. |
| Contract terms (7) | 1 No public terms found (unverified). | 2 Terms: fees 'generally billed in advance' and refunds 'as stated at the time of purchase' [3]. Cancellation terms not found. |
| Specialty fit (dental) (5) | 5 Built specifically for dental practices [1]. | 2 General service-business tool with a dental page [1][2]. |
| Last checked | 2026-10-14 | 2026-10-19 |
Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.
Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.
Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.