Dental AI › AI receptionist

AptaBook review

AI receptionist 42/85 BAA not confirmed Level 1 desk review: preliminary New

Reviewed by the PracticeAIReview editorial team · About the team

Low-cost, self-serve AI receptionist for calls and website chat with fully published prices. It books into Google Calendar or Outlook, not your dental PMS, and its site only says to contact it for a BAA.

BAA not confirmed. Don't use this tool with patient information until the vendor signs a BAA with your practice.
No affiliate links. AptaBook has not paid for this review and has no listing with us. Facts are from the public sources below. Each claim shows its last-checked date. Website: https://aptabook.com/

Pricing (as shown by vendor)

Solo '$49 a month with 50 conversations', Starter '$99 with 400', Professional '$149 with 1,500' and Enterprise 'custom pricing'; 'there are no overage charges, and every plan starts with a 15-day free trial with no credit card' [1]. Which plans include a BAA isn't stated.

Last checked: 2026-10-19

HIPAA / BAA (vendor's own statement)

“For healthcare use cases that require a Business Associate Agreement, contact us before enabling channels that may handle protected health information.”

From Section 12 of AptaBook's terms of service [3]. In an email to PracticeAIReview on 2026-10-19, AptaBook marketing specialist Sam Dawson wrote: 'yes, AptaBook will sign a Business Associate Agreement with a dental practice that asks for one.' The public terms only say to contact AptaBook; they don't say a BAA will be signed or on which plans. The site's FAQ says 'AptaBook is HIPAA compliant' [1][2], but a HIPAA-compliant claim isn't a BAA. Get the signed BAA before patient data reaches any channel. BAA text not public.

Last checked: 2026-10-19

Score breakdown

HIPAA / BAA availability12/20Integrations (dental PMS / EHR)5/25Pricing transparency12/12Setup effort6/8Support3/8Contract terms2/7Specialty fit (dental)2/5Accuracy / output quality0/15 (untested)
Score by criterion, from the table below. Accuracy is 0 until hands-on testing.
CriterionScoreWhy (evidence)Last checked
HIPAA / BAA availability12 / 20Terms only say to 'contact us' for a BAA [3]; no public statement that a BAA will be signed. The vendor confirmed by email that it signs one on request, pending a public statement. Plan eligibility not stated. Text not public.2026-10-19
Integrations (dental PMS / EHR)5 / 25Books into 'Google Calendar or Outlook' and lists HubSpot and Zoho CRM [2]. No dental PMS is named; for a PMS sync the vendor points to 'Webhooks and custom HTTP tools' [2]. No PMS write-back, so staff re-enter bookings.2026-10-19
Pricing transparency12 / 12All plans, conversation limits and 'no overage charges' published [1].2026-10-19
Accuracy / output quality0 / 15Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.n/a
Setup effort6 / 8Self-serve: 'Most businesses are live in under 10 minutes' by connecting the calendar and forwarding the phone line; 15-day free trial [1].2026-10-19
Support3 / 8Support by email (support@aptabook.com); terms say 'Response times vary by plan and severity' [3]. Hours not stated.2026-10-19
Contract terms2 / 7Terms: fees 'generally billed in advance' and refunds 'as stated at the time of purchase' [3]. Cancellation terms not found.2026-10-19
Specialty fit (dental)2 / 5General service-business tool with a dental page [1][2].2026-10-19
Preliminary total42 / 85 (tested so far)Hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending. Accuracy is untested (0/15) until a hands-on test, so the full 100-point rubric total isn't shown yet. Rubric

Strengths

Watch-outs

More: AptaBook pricing · AptaBook HIPAA/BAA · comparisons

Used AptaBook? Tell us

Practices that use a tool see things a desk review can't. Email us what worked and what didn't.

Email us your experience

Nothing you send is published without your practice's written OK. Your notes never change a score on their own; we use them to decide what to check next. Please don't include patient information.

Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.

Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.

Sources

  1. [1] https://aptabook.com/ (Homepage: plans, setup, FAQ incl. HIPAA). Checked 2026-10-19
  2. [2] https://aptabook.com/for/dentists (Dentists page: features, integrations, dental FAQ). Checked 2026-10-19
  3. [3] https://aptabook.com/terms (Terms of service: Section 12 BAA wording, support). Checked 2026-10-19

Spotted an error? See corrections.