Callura vs NexHealth
Short answer: Callura scores higher (56 vs 47). BAA not confirmed for NexHealth, so NexHealth can't be a top pick for patient data. Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
| Criterion | Callura | NexHealth |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI receptionist | Patient messaging / scheduling |
| Preliminary score | 56/85 | 47/85 |
| BAA | BAA stated “We sign Business Associate Agreements (BAAs) with covered entities and business associates upon request.” | BAA not confirmed Not published: no BAA statement found on the vendor pages we checked. |
| Pricing as shown | Not published on the vendor site [1]. | Not published (demo / 'Get pricing') [1]. The FAQ describes month-to-month and yearly options [1]. |
| HIPAA / BAA availability (20) | 16 Vendor signs BAAs 'upon request' [2]; terms require an executed BAA before PHI [3]. Text not public. | 8 HIPAA/security claim on the pricing page. BAA not confirmed from a vendor page we could read. |
| Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25) | 22 Vendor: 'Callura connects with Dentrix, Denticon, Open Dental, Eaglesoft, NexHealth, Epic' [1] and 'books and reschedules appointments in your PMS' [1]. | 22 Integrations page lists Dentrix, Dentrix Ascend, Eaglesoft, Open Dental, Denticon, Curve Dental, CareStack and more [2]. The 'Synchronizer lets you automatically read and write data' [1]. |
| Pricing transparency (12) | 2 No price published [1]. | 2 Demo-based. |
| Accuracy / output quality (15) | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. |
| Setup effort (8) | 4 Vendor: 'Callura goes live in under one week and requires less than two hours of your team's time' [1]. | 2 Not stated (unverified). |
| Support (8) | 3 Onboarding via 'a dedicated Slack channel' (vendor FAQ); ongoing support hours not stated. | 4 'White-glove support' claimed [1]. |
| Contract terms (7) | 5 Terms: agreement 'continues on a month-to-month basis'; either party may terminate on thirty days' notice [3]. Implementation fees non-refundable [3]. | 5 Month-to-month or yearly, with 'no cancellation fees'. Annual plans need '90 days prior notice to not renew' [1]. |
| Specialty fit (dental) (5) | 4 Dental is a main market alongside med spas [1]. | 4 Dental and medical. Dental integrations are extensive [2]. |
| Last checked | 2026-10-15 | 2026-10-14 |
Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.
Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.
Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.