Dental Intelligence vs Smith.ai AI Receptionist
Short answer: Dental Intelligence scores higher (52 vs 33). Smith.ai says its AI Receptionist isn't HIPAA-compliant, so it can't be a top pick for patient data. Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
| Criterion | Dental Intelligence | Smith.ai AI Receptionist |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Patient messaging / scheduling | AI receptionist |
| Preliminary score | 52/85 | 33/85 |
| BAA | BAA stated “Business Associates Agreement” | Not HIPAA-compliant “Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle protected health information (PHI) in regulated healthcare environments” |
| Pricing as shown | Not published. Demo only [1]. | Free $0 (25 calls/mo, $3.00/call after); Pro $150/mo (75 calls, $2.00/call); Enterprise from $500/mo (300 calls) [1]. |
| HIPAA / BAA availability (20) | 18 Full BAA text public [2]. | 0 Vendor states it is not HIPAA-compliant [2]. |
| Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25) | 18 Names 'Eaglesoft Dentrix Dentrix Ascend Denticon Fuse Open Dental' [1]; write-back not stated. | 5 Calendly, Clio, Zapier and '7,000+' integrations via automation [1][2]. No dental PMS listed. |
| Pricing transparency (12) | 2 Demo only [1]. | 12 All tiers and per-call rates published [1]. |
| Accuracy / output quality (15) | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. |
| Setup effort (8) | 2 Not stated. | 6 Self-setup with 'Quality Studio - test before going live' [1]. |
| Support (8) | 5 Phone '(801) 717-2777', support@dentalintel.com and 'Live Chat' [1]. | 5 'Live phone, email & chat support' on Pro [1]. |
| Contract terms (7) | 2 'An agreement with Dental Intelligence renews automatically for the agreed-upon term, typically annually'; 30 days' notice to opt out [3]. | 4 Receptionist pricing FAQ: 'Smith is a month-to-month service' with a 30-day money-back guarantee [3]. Whether this also applies to AI plans isn't stated explicitly (unverified). |
| Specialty fit (dental) (5) | 5 Dental-only [1]. | 1 General SMB, not healthcare-specific. |
| Last checked | 2026-10-16 | 2026-10-14 |
Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.
Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.
Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.