Viva AI vs Callura
Short answer: Viva AI scores higher (57 vs 56). Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
| Criterion | Viva AI | Callura |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI receptionist | AI receptionist |
| Preliminary score | 57/85 | 56/85 |
| BAA | BAA stated “HIPAA + BAA Fully compliant, with a Business Associate Agreement signed for every practice.” | BAA stated “We sign Business Associate Agreements (BAAs) with covered entities and business associates upon request.” |
| Pricing as shown | Gold '$349 /mo' (4,000 credits, 'Additional credits $0.10 each'), Platinum '$899/mo' (7,000 credits), Diamond '$1,199 /mo' (12,000 credits, 'Additional credits $0.08 each') [1]. | Not published on the vendor site [1]. |
| HIPAA / BAA availability (20) | 16 Vendor: 'a BAA signed for every practice' [1]. BAA text not public. | 16 Vendor signs BAAs 'upon request' [2]; terms require an executed BAA before PHI [3]. Text not public. |
| Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25) | 13 Vendor: 'official, direct integrations with all major practice management systems' and 'Viva reads and writes your schedule in real time' [1]. No PMS is named on the pages we read, so 13 (write-back claimed, systems not named). | 22 Vendor: 'Callura connects with Dentrix, Denticon, Open Dental, Eaglesoft, NexHealth, Epic' [1] and 'books and reschedules appointments in your PMS' [1]. |
| Pricing transparency (12) | 12 All three tiers, included credits and overage rates are published [1]. | 2 No price published [1]. |
| Accuracy / output quality (15) | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. |
| Setup effort (8) | 4 Vendor: 'How long does setup take? About one week' [1]. | 4 Vendor: 'Callura goes live in under one week and requires less than two hours of your team's time' [1]. |
| Support (8) | 2 Support hours or channels not stated on pages we read. | 3 Onboarding via 'a dedicated Slack channel' (vendor FAQ); ongoing support hours not stated. |
| Contract terms (7) | 5 Vendor: '30-day risk-free trial — cancel anytime, no questions asked' [1]. Terms after the trial aren't stated; the linked privacy/terms pages didn't render. | 5 Terms: agreement 'continues on a month-to-month basis'; either party may terminate on thirty days' notice [3]. Implementation fees non-refundable [3]. |
| Specialty fit (dental) (5) | 5 Built for dental practices [1]. | 4 Dental is a main market alongside med spas [1]. |
| Last checked | 2026-10-15 | 2026-10-15 |
Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.
Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.
Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.