Comparisons

AptaBook vs Podium

Short answer: AptaBook scores higher (42 vs 33). BAA not confirmed for AptaBook, so AptaBook can't be a top pick for patient data. Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
CriterionAptaBookPodium
CategoryAI receptionistPatient messaging / scheduling
Preliminary score42/8533/85
BAABAA not confirmed
“For healthcare use cases that require a Business Associate Agreement, contact us before enabling channels that may handle protected health information.”
BAA stated
“If Client is a Covered Entity or Business Associate, as defined in HIPAA, Podium and Client agree to the terms of Podium’s BAA”
Pricing as shownSolo '$49 a month with 50 conversations', Starter '$99 with 400', Professional '$149 with 1,500' and Enterprise 'custom pricing'; 'there are no overage charges, and every plan starts with a 15-day free trial with no credit card' [1]. Which plans include a BAA isn't stated.No figures shown on the pricing page when we checked [1] (unverified).
HIPAA / BAA availability (20)12
Terms only say to 'contact us' for a BAA [3]; no public statement that a BAA will be signed. The vendor confirmed by email that it signs one on request, pending a public statement. Plan eligibility not stated. Text not public.
16
Terms incorporate a BAA for covered entities [2]. Plan restrictions unverified.
Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25)5
Books into 'Google Calendar or Outlook' and lists HubSpot and Zoho CRM [2]. No dental PMS is named; for a PMS sync the vendor points to 'Webhooks and custom HTTP tools' [2]. No PMS write-back, so staff re-enter bookings.
5
'200+ integrations' claimed [1]. Dental PMS integrations not confirmed.
Pricing transparency (12)12
All plans, conversation limits and 'no overage charges' published [1].
2
No numbers shown.
Accuracy / output quality (15)0
Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.
0
Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.
Setup effort (8)6
Self-serve: 'Most businesses are live in under 10 minutes' by connecting the calendar and forwarding the phone line; 15-day free trial [1].
4
'Step-by-Step Onboarding' [1].
Support (8)3
Support by email (support@aptabook.com); terms say 'Response times vary by plan and severity' [3]. Hours not stated.
3
Vendor: 'customer support is included in every plan' [1].
Contract terms (7)2
Terms: fees 'generally billed in advance' and refunds 'as stated at the time of purchase' [3]. Cancellation terms not found.
1
Terms not reviewed for length or renewal (unverified).
Specialty fit (dental) (5)2
General service-business tool with a dental page [1][2].
2
General multi-industry. The dental page was thin when fetched.
Last checked2026-10-192026-10-14

Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.

Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.

Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.