Comparisons

Dentina vs AptaBook

Short answer: Dentina scores higher (58 vs 42). BAA not confirmed for Dentina and AptaBook, so neither can be a top pick for patient data. Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
CriterionDentinaAptaBook
CategoryAI receptionistAI receptionist
Preliminary score58/8542/85
BAABAA not confirmed
Not published: no BAA statement found on the vendor pages we checked.
BAA not confirmed
“For healthcare use cases that require a Business Associate Agreement, contact us before enabling channels that may handle protected health information.”
Pricing as shownStandard Inbound 'Starting at $299 / mo', Premium Inbound 'Starting at $399 / mo', both 'Billed annually · per location, up to 3 providers' [1]. Monthly-billing prices and overages not shown.Solo '$49 a month with 50 conversations', Starter '$99 with 400', Professional '$149 with 1,500' and Enterprise 'custom pricing'; 'there are no overage charges, and every plan starts with a 15-day free trial with no credit card' [1]. Which plans include a BAA isn't stated.
HIPAA / BAA availability (20)10
Only implied: privacy policy refers to 'our contract and business associate agreement with that customer' [2]; homepage claims 'HIPAA compliant' [1]. No statement that a BAA is offered.
12
Terms only say to 'contact us' for a BAA [3]; no public statement that a BAA will be signed. The vendor confirmed by email that it signs one on request, pending a public statement. Plan eligibility not stated. Text not public.
Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25)22
Vendor: 'Books directly into Open Dental, Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Curve, Denticon + more' and 'writing back to your PMS in the same call' [1]. 25 only after a demo.
5
Books into 'Google Calendar or Outlook' and lists HubSpot and Zoho CRM [2]. No dental PMS is named; for a PMS sync the vendor points to 'Webhooks and custom HTTP tools' [2]. No PMS write-back, so staff re-enter bookings.
Pricing transparency (12)9
Two 'starting at' prices, billed annually, are public [1]; monthly prices and overages aren't.
12
All plans, conversation limits and 'no overage charges' published [1].
Accuracy / output quality (15)0
Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.
0
Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.
Setup effort (8)2
Vendor states 'No setup fee' [1] but no onboarding timeline.
6
Self-serve: 'Most businesses are live in under 10 minutes' by connecting the calendar and forwarding the phone line; 15-day free trial [1].
Support (8)4
Vendor: 'Support via phone, email, and chat' [1].
3
Support by email (support@aptabook.com); terms say 'Response times vary by plan and severity' [3]. Hours not stated.
Contract terms (7)6
Vendor: '30-day Free trial · Cancel anytime' and 'cancel anytime with refund' [1].
2
Terms: fees 'generally billed in advance' and refunds 'as stated at the time of purchase' [3]. Cancellation terms not found.
Specialty fit (dental) (5)5
Dental-only [1].
2
General service-business tool with a dental page [1][2].
Last checked2026-10-152026-10-19

Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.

Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.

Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.