Solutionreach vs Smith.ai AI Receptionist
Short answer: Solutionreach scores higher (35 vs 33). BAA not confirmed for Solutionreach, and Smith.ai says its AI Receptionist isn't HIPAA-compliant, so neither can be a top pick for patient data. Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
| Criterion | Solutionreach | Smith.ai AI Receptionist |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Patient messaging / scheduling | AI receptionist |
| Preliminary score | 35/85 | 33/85 |
| BAA | BAA not confirmed Not published: no BAA statement found on the vendor pages we checked. | Not HIPAA-compliant “Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle protected health information (PHI) in regulated healthcare environments” |
| Pricing as shown | Not published. 'Request a Quote' [2]. | Free $0 (25 calls/mo, $3.00/call after); Pro $150/mo (75 calls, $2.00/call); Enterprise from $500/mo (300 calls) [1]. |
| HIPAA / BAA availability (20) | 10 Only implied by the business-associate role statement [3]. | 0 Vendor states it is not HIPAA-compliant [2]. |
| Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25) | 15 Integration list includes Dentrix Enterprise, OpenDental, SoftdentSQL [4]; write-back unclear. | 5 Calendly, Clio, Zapier and '7,000+' integrations via automation [1][2]. No dental PMS listed. |
| Pricing transparency (12) | 2 Quote only [2]. | 12 All tiers and per-call rates published [1]. |
| Accuracy / output quality (15) | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. | 0 Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then. |
| Setup effort (8) | 2 Not stated. | 6 Self-setup with 'Quality Studio - test before going live' [1]. |
| Support (8) | 2 Not stated. | 5 'Live phone, email & chat support' on Pro [1]. |
| Contract terms (7) | 1 Not found (unverified). | 4 Receptionist pricing FAQ: 'Smith is a month-to-month service' with a 30-day money-back guarantee [3]. Whether this also applies to AI plans isn't stated explicitly (unverified). |
| Specialty fit (dental) (5) | 3 Dental, eye care and medical [1]. | 1 General SMB, not healthcare-specific. |
| Last checked | 2026-10-16 | 2026-10-14 |
Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.
Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.
Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.