Comparisons

CallBird AI vs Smith.ai AI Receptionist

Short answer: CallBird AI scores higher (55 vs 33). Smith.ai says its AI Receptionist isn't HIPAA-compliant, so it can't be a top pick for patient data. Both are Level 1 desk reviews from public sources; accuracy is untested for both. Scores are out of 85 (tested so far); hands-on accuracy testing (15 points) is pending.
CriterionCallBird AISmith.ai AI Receptionist
CategoryAI receptionistAI receptionist
Preliminary score55/8533/85
BAABAA stated
“BAA (Business Associate Agreement) available upon request”
Not HIPAA-compliant
“Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle protected health information (PHI) in regulated healthcare environments”
Pricing as shownStarter '$99 /month' ('Up to 50 calls per month'); Professional $249/month and Enterprise $499/month ('unlimited calls') per the vendor's own FAQ [1][3]. Overages not stated.Free $0 (25 calls/mo, $3.00/call after); Pro $150/mo (75 calls, $2.00/call); Enterprise from $500/mo (300 calls) [1].
HIPAA / BAA availability (20)14
Dental page: 'BAA (Business Associate Agreement) available upon request' [2]. Plan eligibility not stated, text not public.
0
Vendor states it is not HIPAA-compliant [2].
Integrations (dental PMS / EHR) (25)15
Dental page: 'Two-way integration with major dental and medical software: Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental' [2], but the pricing plans list only 'Google Calendar integration' [1]. Write-back for dental PMSs unclear.
5
Calendly, Clio, Zapier and '7,000+' integrations via automation [1][2]. No dental PMS listed.
Pricing transparency (12)10
Three plan prices and call caps published [1][3]; overages not stated.
12
All tiers and per-call rates published [1].
Accuracy / output quality (15)0
Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.
0
Not tested yet. Accuracy needs a Level 3 hands-on test with synthetic data. 0/15 until then.
Setup effort (8)6
Self-serve: 'Setup in under 10 minutes', '7-day free trial (no credit card required)' [1].
6
Self-setup with 'Quality Studio - test before going live' [1].
Support (8)2
Support hours not stated.
5
'Live phone, email & chat support' on Pro [1].
Contract terms (7)6
Vendor: 'Cancel anytime (no contracts)' and '30-day money-back guarantee' [1].
4
Receptionist pricing FAQ: 'Smith is a month-to-month service' with a 30-day money-back guarantee [3]. Whether this also applies to AI plans isn't stated explicitly (unverified).
Specialty fit (dental) (5)2
General small-business tool with a dental page [1][2].
1
General SMB, not healthcare-specific.
Last checked2026-10-152026-10-14

Source numbers like [2] refer to each tool's own source list on its review page.

Every Thursday: dental AI price and HIPAA changes, 5 minutes.

Double opt-in. Unsubscribe in one click.